sigelphoenix: (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] sigelphoenix at 02:33pm on 26/04/2007 under ,
This morning I accidentally set my clock an hour ahead (while trying to change the alarm setting while I was half-conscious) and convinced myself that I had overslept. I didn't realize what time it actually was until I got on campus and arrived at my empty classroom 15 minutes after the class (supposedly) began. I ran to a computer to see if my professor had emailed us about cancelling class or meeting somewhere else ... then finally noticed that it was 8:45 a.m., not 9:45. O_o

This convinced me that I needed coffee. Which was probably not the best idea, because I've become a little dependent on coffee over the past week and a half. Also, drinking coffee on anything less than a full stomach actually makes my head feel woozy (but the caffeine still works, which is why I still drink it). So I feel a little ... off, right now.

On Tuesday - the morning after I had my "school rar *headdesk*" episode - I got an email from one of my professors letting me know that I had been nominated for the Dean's Medal, an award based on academic performance. XD;;; I feel like somewhat of an imposter now. :P

It's nice, though, to tell this kind of stuff to my parents (who visited yesterday and Tuesday). This is the kind of success they're accustomed to, rather than me trying to tell them about my blogging or roleplaying escapades. :P

What's great, though, is that the Women Studies department is writing in support of myself and other majors who are nominees, and trying to make sure non-traditional successes are being considered by the selection committee. Now, being the grades-obsessed, obedient student that I am, it's not like I'm some rebel who's been excluded by traditional evaluations of academic success. But a lot of other people, who do a lot of worthwhile work, could benefit from this kind of attitude shift, and it would be awesome if this affected how Dean's Medal recipients are selected in the future. To that end, my professor will be writing a letter of support that includes both my schoolwork and my extracurricular stuff (like C.O.R.E.).

Also on Tuesday, my professor for Feminism, Racism, and Anti-Racism informed our class that Ruth Frankenberg had passed away. Those of you who are familiar with feminist theory or critical whiteness studies probably know her name. Frankenberg was a feminist/anti-racist writer from Britain who came to the U.S. and eventually taught at the University of Washington - in fact, she was the one who founded the Feminism, Racism, and Anti-Racism course. After being diagnosed with MS, she retired to India with her partner (though she continued writing, and I remember reading one of her most recent articles for class last year). A lot of her work was centered on white women's relationship to racism.

I feel ... I'm not sure. On the one hand, I'm sad to learn that another great mind is gone. I've heard about a few such passings over the last couple of years, and part of me wants to complain that it isn't fair that we're losing scholars who do such worthwhile work. On the other hand, I know that we lose such people all the time, and the only difference is that now I know that it's happening. And isn't it better that I'm aware of these people, and what they do?

In a narcissistic moment, it also made me think, I have a lot of work to do here. And not much time to waste - on self-doubt or being daunted or being discouraged.

So all this stuff has combined to create a weird kind of headspace for me. Not good or bad, per se. Just weird.

Although part of the effect might be due to the coffee. :P I really need to lay off for a while.
There are no comments on this entry. (Reply.)

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
    1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14 15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31