sigelphoenix: (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
Posted here.

On the one hand, this is just a pretty, pretty image. I like Hughes' style, and the way his lines just look ... graceful? I don't know; I don't have the vocabulary to describe it.

However, I also think Michael Turner has a "pretty" style if you ignore the fact that all his women have the same face and, on the scale of Rob-Liefeld-to-Alex-Ross, his sense of anatomy ain't that high. So, in a way, does Greg Land if you ignore the fact that the women's facial expressions are either vacant or incongruous, body parts from different models are cobbled together, different characters look the same and the same characters look different - and, oh yeah, the whole tracing thing. So "pretty" definitely isn't everything.

My first question is, why are the women drawn like this? There's certainly nothing wrong with pretty gowns, but it's not like we're going to see a corresponding poster with the men of the DCU in slinky formal wear (or are we?). The women are also in various sultry/vampy poses, which serve to make them look more appealing for the (heterosexual male) viewer's benefit.

What saves the image from just being pandering, though, is the touch of self-consciousness I get from Hughes' choice of poses. In particular, Catwoman (on the far left) is half-turned away from the viewer, and looks as if this whole mess is beneath her. Oracle (to the right of Catwoman) looks honestly amused, like she gets the secret joke. Black Canary and Power Girl (the blondes to the right of Oracle) have pretty standard sexy-vacant model looks on their faces - however, it could also be in character (people who know them better - check?) for them to ham it up like this without actually being vapid.

Now let's talk about breasts: one of the most eye-catching parts of the image is Wonder Woman's gravity-defying cleavage. At least the rest of her body is in a powerful and commanding pose - but really, there's no justification, given the utter lack of supportive clothing. And then there's Power Girl, whose breasts are unsurprisingly the size of her head, and are not supported by a correspondingly wide waist. Both of these women's character designs could be made to work, but you can just expect me to accept them as they are.

On the other hand, I am pleased that Supergirl has smaller, believable-teenager breasts. Heck, I'm pleased that all the women don't have identical bust sizes. I do wish for more variety in the body shapes, though. Wonder Woman has some shoulder definition, but while she stands out as the tallest, she doesn't look strikingly more muscular than the others. Sure, they're all superheroes/villains, but she's Wonder Woman. An Amazon's body should stand out, and not just because of her cleavage.

Finally, I hate the shoes. Really. Sure, some women can wear stiletto high heels, and some women might even like them - but not all. Why is every foot shown in the image contorted into a three-inch heel? (And yes, we cannot see Wonder Woman's and Oracle's heels, but women's feet don't naturally bend that way. No, really. I don't care what you learned from comic books.) Wonder Woman in particular would have looked great in flat, strappy, Grecian sandals.

Also - guess which character is the lesbian? I bet it isn't obvious! Hurr hurr.

With those issues addressed, I think this poster could live up to its potential as a gorgeous group shot of these women having fun and looking sexy. As it is, it's pretty good but noticeably flawed.

As a side note, [insanejournal.com profile] nenena on LiveJournal evened things up a little by posting this link to male Disney character beefcake. Questionably worksafe, but high-larious. [Edit: Link taken down because the images were posted without artist permission. The artist is David Kawena, and you can find the images here if you have a deviantART account.]
Mood:: 'geeky' geeky
There are 20 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by (anonymous) at 06:26pm on 22/04/2008
Personally, I think Zatanna takes the cake for having an "Eff you" expression on her face with the little tip of her hat.

As for the rest of it, I will agree it is a pretty, pretty picture. (And I would like to see the men of the DCU in formal ware.... oof *fans self*) But I agree. This is why I'm not a fan of Adam Hughes or the Dodsons, really. Their stuff looks good, but almost too good and pretty, like every bit of art has to be a glossy pin up. =/
ext_15468: (DQ8 - Jessica - Only in Fandom for Boobi)
posted by [identity profile] dragovianknight.insanejournal.com at 09:22pm on 22/04/2008
Yeah, Zatanna was the one who stood out for me, too.
 
posted by [identity profile] sigelphoenix.insanejournal.com at 09:51pm on 22/04/2008
Zatanna does look pretty cool. :D

I actually like both Hughes and the Dodsons (abovementioned issues aside), but I go for that kind of stylized prettiness.

That's three votes so far! I think that definitely merits a formal guy group shot. :D
 
posted by [identity profile] das_dingsi.insanejournal.com at 06:50pm on 22/04/2008
The beefcake link didn't work for me. Apparently some people have contacted Google because they thought the images were... is 'offensive' the right word here? Like, icky sexual stuff, think of the childrenz. *sigh*

Also, I think I recall the art being made by an artist on DeviantArt, I was wondering whether the bloggers didn't credit or I was just too stupid to find the link. I wish I had bookmarked the dA gallery...
 
posted by [identity profile] sigelphoenix.insanejournal.com at 09:53pm on 22/04/2008
The blogger credits, but did not get permission, so I took the link down. But I found the DA gallery, and posted the link. Enjoy! :D
 
posted by [identity profile] das_dingsi.insanejournal.com at 06:54pm on 22/04/2008
Also - guess which character is the lesbian? I bet it isn't obvious! Hurr hurr.

... the only one wearing pants and sitting in a rather "manly", relaxed fashion?

(Guess why I immediately loved her, despite not recognizing the character.)
 
posted by [identity profile] sigelphoenix.insanejournal.com at 10:01pm on 22/04/2008
However did you guess? ;P

I do like the pose - it's confident, and she looks sexy. The pantsuit is a little weird-looking, but not bad. I just wish the lesbian character didn't get all the "male" signifiers. As someone pointed out in another commentary, Kate Kane is a socialite who often wears fancy dresses, whereas a pantsuit is more Oracle's style.
 
posted by [identity profile] das_dingsi.insanejournal.com at 10:14pm on 22/04/2008
Ooh, it's Kate Kane!

(Actually, at first I was a bit puzzled because I kept thinking "ONE lesbian? But over there are Ivy and Harley Quinn..." -- Then I remembered that's not canon, and that DC has never been very good at queer diversity. I do love me some Manhunter, though. Even more so after so many people were whining how Obsidian was "ruined" by being "made" gay. *gives them the finger*)

Yes, the dress for Oracle striked me as a bit weird, too. I felt like... like she was dressing up just for this occasion, you know?

Dude. I'm so out of the loop with anything DCU.
 
posted by [identity profile] mahokiwi.insanejournal.com at 07:19pm on 22/04/2008
hmmm,well, I don't know anything about the artist, but what strikes me most immediately is that he appears to be trying for the art-nouveau style; the swooping lines and the washed out colors on the skin. Poison ivy especially is supremely iconic of the mucca-style of art, but it's also prominent in Wonder Woman's hair. Likewise, the bold outlines combined with the excessive detailing on the folds of the clothing...honestly, I think all that only makes the musculature stand out more. True, I would think "wonder woman" would have more build in general, but the fact that she has any definition at all is immediately noticeable when one is looking from the lens of art-nouveau, which is known for it's flowing, curvy women.

uh, blah blah art geek! And who knows, maybe he's not going for the AN style and this is how he always draws! I am not trying to make excuses for him, certainly.

I would love the men in formal wear. Omg.
the thing about that blog is that they are notorious for taking work and posting it without permission. They list the artist but said artist has no idea their work is being posted there. :(
 
posted by [identity profile] mahokiwi.insanejournal.com at 09:42pm on 22/04/2008
okay, yeah, looking through the rest of his gallery, he does at least seem aware that wonder woman ought to have some pretty seriously biceps, and he seems pretty good at actually portraying that (it's almost distressing, actually, in some of them, the hugeness of her upper body in comparison to the complete lack of hips he gives her. She's got man hips/thighs in some of those pics 0-o) which really makes it seem like he was trying for nouveau here.
 
posted by [identity profile] sigelphoenix.insanejournal.com at 09:42pm on 22/04/2008
Synchronized commenting!
 
posted by [identity profile] mahokiwi.insanejournal.com at 09:48pm on 22/04/2008
WE WIN THE GOLD
 
posted by [identity profile] sigelphoenix.insanejournal.com at 10:01pm on 22/04/2008
\o/
 
posted by [identity profile] sigelphoenix.insanejournal.com at 09:42pm on 22/04/2008
Hughes has a gallery of his Wonder Woman art (http://www.justsayah.com/pages/AHpg3.html), so you can get an idea of his style. It's pretty much the same, but you can probably pick up on stuff that I wouldn't notice. My impression has always been that he draws WW with the right general shape - tall, broad shoulders, noticeable hips - but she's smooth and less muscular than his male heroes.

I am glad you're bringing your art geek to the post, because on my own I sort of flail uselessly and say "pretty!" or "not pretty!" ^^;

Ugh. I did not realize that - thanks for the heads up. Link taken down.
 
posted by [identity profile] mahokiwi.insanejournal.com at 09:48pm on 22/04/2008
so while I can be all "blah blah art geek!" about the group shot, this however does not stop me from noticing that the tomb raider gallery is like "my boobies, let me show you them!" XD

the rest of his work seems more like what I'm used to seeing in american comics these days -- that sort of weirdish blend between american and anime stylings, where the eyes are just a bit too large and shiny to qualify as truly american style, but it's holding onto a lot of the detail-oriented stuff that american comic style likes. The group shot definitely looks like a compltely different style from his usual work (and, to me, that makes the inclusion of, for instance, the wheelchair really cool, because if there's anything out of place in an AN piece it would be something as inorganic and sterile as a wheelchair, but he's blended it into the flow of the piece very well.)

I also really appreciate the theme in the pic -- it's like he was given these characters and 'white and fancy' as his parameters, and he's tried to find a way to make each character's outfit reflect who they are WITHIN those parameters (ie: powergirl having the cut out, like her costume, supergirl having the short skirt, Harly having the joker tails, Selena having a white *cat*, the top hat, etc); I have to wonder how much of the theme was his idea and how much he's just working with what idea he's been given (for instance, if he would have been allowed to put sandals on WW, because maybe the art director was "all in ball gowns and heels! 4reel.")

apparently I haven't been getting my art crit disposal taken care of ^^;;;;;;
 
posted by [identity profile] sigelphoenix.insanejournal.com at 10:36pm on 22/04/2008
That is an aspect of the art, though. XD (I can't understand that one shot with her in the thong and holding the towel. What is making the towel stick out so much, assuming that she doesn't have breasts that extend down almost to her elbow?)

I like the costume details, too, and I think they help in making the women look distinct. There is some differentiation in the face and body types - certainly more than typical comic art - but, whereas Diana and Harley definitely look like individuals, a few, like Black Canary, were hard for me to place. Admittedly, though, I'm not as familiar with the DC characters as other fans.

Dispose of your art crit here! On my own I wouldn't have picked up the style, or thought about the influence of art direction. I know Hughes is "big" enough that he probably gets a lot of free reign, but I don't know what the production process is for creating a pinup.
 
posted by [identity profile] redbird.insanejournal.com at 02:08am on 23/04/2008
...seriously. O_o It's like, Revenge of the Chest-Shelf. The one that disturbs me is the one where she's riding on top of... some kind of sea mammal and it looks like someone taped a pair of water balloons to her chest -- and from the look on her face, they must be really heavy.
 
posted by [identity profile] sigelphoenix.insanejournal.com at 03:48am on 23/04/2008
Yeah, her expression pretty much sums up how comfortable it would feel to be in that position. It's definitely one of those pretend-to-look-comfortable model poses.

Now that I look at it more carefully, I'm bugged by the fact that the end of her braid seems disconnected from the rest of her hair.
 
posted by [identity profile] redbird.insanejournal.com at 01:57am on 23/04/2008
Wow, that's a pretty pretty poster. Like, I like Hughes' art well enough already on a purely technical level -- and then he starts going for that art nouveau Alphonse Mucha style and I'm all *guh*. That prettified pinup style of linework doesn't always necessarily work for regular comics, but it certainly works for... well, pinups. Which this is.

That said, I agree with all the issues you raised -- particularly about the shoes. I wanna see some flat-sandals on Diana! And stompy boots! And something flat-heeled but still elegant and sexy! (such shoes do exist, guys!) I mean, at least lets see some variety here. >_>

As far as body types go, I think that Power Girl might actually have bigger shoulders than Wonder Woman n that picture...
 
posted by [identity profile] sigelphoenix.insanejournal.com at 03:51am on 23/04/2008
I'm okay with PG being as buff as WW, considering her strength. But the fact that I don't see much difference between those two and, say, Harley? Uh-uh.

I've been hunting for flat-heeled but elegant shoes, myself, because I'm definitely not one of those women who can wear three-inch stilettos. And, while I can attest to the fact that shoes like that are bloody hard to find ... this is make believe! Hughes should be able to make them up and draw them!

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
    1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14 15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31